About GYN Cancer

Gynecologic cancer is an uncontrolled growth and spread of abnormal cells that originate from the reproductive organs. There are several types of gynecologic cancers which include cervical, gestational trophoblastic disease (GTD), primary peritoneal, ovarian, uterine/endometrial, vaginal and vulvar cancers.

Cervical Cancer 

Gestational Trophoblastic Disease (GTD) 

Primary Peritoneal Cancer (PPC) – The abdominal cavity and organs in the abdomen are covered in a sheet of tissue called the peritoneum. This layer protects the abdominal organs and prevents your organs from sticking to each other.  Certain cells in the peritoneum can undergo transformation into cancerous cells, and when this occurs, the result is primary peritoneal cancer. It can occur anywhere in the abdominal cavity and affect the surface of any organ contained within it.  Even though the cells of the peritoneal lining develop from the same type of cell that lines the surface of the ovary and fallopian tube, it differs from ovarian cancer.  When PCC happens, the ovaries usually have minimal disease.

Ovarian/Fallopian Tube Cancer 

Uterine/Endometrial Cancer 

Vaginal Cancer 

Vular Cancer